Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is it really that difficult to find a job in Malaysia?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Malaysia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
theoriginalprankster

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 10:51 am    Post subject: Is it really that difficult to find a job in Malaysia? Reply with quote

I've spent quite a few months looking for a teaching position in Malaysia, and they seem rather difficult to come by.

I have lots of experience - IELTS examiner, CELTA, degree, 13 years experience.

Taught children, adults, university, airlines.

And I've put my CV online, but no luck.

Anyone got any ideas?
nomad soul

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you see "TEFLing in Malaysia--the basics" (http://forums.eslcafe.com/job/viewtopic.php?t=98307)? Malaysia apparently produces its own capable English teachers. In fact, the half dozen or so Malaysian EFL teachers I worked with in Saudi Arabia were well-qualified (TEFL-relevant MA and PhD holders).

You might try the British Council for openings.
theoriginalprankster

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2015 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BC Malaysia are as dodgy as BC China and BC around the world - nasty bunch to work for (and I am registered and certified to work for them). No thanks.

The more I read about Malaysia, the less appealing it seems.

Penang's still on the cards though.
Hod

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

theoriginalprankster wrote: