Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Can you support a family teaching ESL in Latin America?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Latin America Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
santi84

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:35 pm    Post subject: Can you support a family teaching ESL in Latin America? Reply with quote

Are there any locations in LA where you can support a family on your ESL salary? I'm interested but would be bringing along a spouse and two little ones (5 & 3). I have a TESL degree/certification and a few years experience in North America. My spouse does not have a degree.
water rat

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm hardly an authority, but as far as I know, it's all practically minimum wage (US), part-time and for backpackers. I guess if you have an M.A., a US state teacher's certificate and possibly a CELTA you could try an international school for embassy children. Do you have any of that? Sorry, don't know if you're American.
santi84

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! Afraid not, I have a TESL undergraduate (for adults), 250 hour post-grad cert but no MA. Canadian.
esl_prof

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote