Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Best Universities/Schools to work for in Kuwait

View previous topic :: View next topic  
johnfriendly

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 3:04 pm    Post subject: Best Universities/Schools to work for in Kuwait Reply with quote

Hi all,

At the moment I am completing an MA in TESOL. I have the CELTA and 5 years teaching experience. Most of my experience is teaching children.

My fiance is Kuwaiti and we are hoping to relocate there in the next year or so. I am interested in working in a university but scrolling through some previous threads has frightened me somewhat. I don't want to work for a horrible employer.

What are the safest universities to work for in Kuwait?
Also, with an MAin Tesol would it be possible to get work in an international school as well?

Thanks in advance!
nomad soul

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can get a list of Kuwaiti universities by doing a wiki search. Check their websites for job ads. Ditto for AMIDEAST Kuwait.

That said, your problem will be your lack of post-MA TESOL teaching experience. Plus, your only experience is with children and not university students. A good university like the American University of Kuwait expects several or more years of relevant experience post-degree. As for international schools, you'll likely need a teaching license. Seriously consider getting one. Anyway, try sites like Seek Teachers and Teach Away.
johnfriendly

PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you nomadsoul.