Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

EFL/ESOL is getting harder and harder re jobs

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Newbie Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dragonpiwo

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:19 am    Post subject: EFL/ESOL is getting harder and harder re jobs Reply with quote

When you're young, you don't think about pensions, health care, tax and getting old. EFL's a laugh. You get to travel, date hot people and experience new places.

I've been an EFL teacher for 20 years. It's getting harder and harder. I work in the Middle East, used to work in Eastern Europe and have worked in the UK at language schools and an FE college.
The thing is, to get the fewer and fewer 'good' jobs, you need to 'invest' in more and more expensive qualifications. It's a bit of a trap because even then there's no guarantee. The well-paid jobs are on the slide in the ME due to the low price of oil. I went back to Eastern Europe last year in between jobs and was offered entry-level pay, split-level shifts and thought screw that. The UK regs mean schools are closing.

If I were younger, I'd get straight out of EFL. It's a duff job these days with no prospects.

It used to be that the pay and the cost of living were doable, but in most cases now you'll live in penury in a nice place where you can't afford to do the nice things in that place.

There was always the Middle East bolt-hole but that is closing.

I'm lucky, I have a house bought by me on Middle Eastern wages. I pity the next generation and I'm only mid-40s.