Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Specific questions about teaching at GABA in Japan
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
malone76

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 8:02 pm    Post subject: Specific questions about teaching at GABA in Japan Reply with quote

I have been reading this forum a good bit, and even though I have found a lot of good information, I have some specific questions that pertain to me.

I am a 40 year old white male from the United States. I have a bachelor's degree in marketing and have worked as a business manager in the healthcare industry for 17 years. I am looking do to a complete 180 and move to Japan to teach English.

I have several reasons for wanting to do this, but the main reasons are I have visited Japan and have fallen in love with country and culture. I love to travel and will use this opportunity to travel in Japan and the rest of Asia as much as possible. I want to learn to speak Japanese for my own personal reasons as well as having this skill for future work in the business world.

I know I will probably end up working in an eikaiwa and this actually suits me for several reasons. I have done a lot of research and specifically have picked out GABA as a likely company to work for. I like the idea of being able to set my own hours, thus being able to travel more. Money is NOT a motivating factor for me and I just want to make enough to pay rent and basic living expenses. My money for travelling will come with me from the US.