Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Seeking advice for my specific situation - teaching in Japan

View previous topic :: View next topic  
malone76

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 9:37 pm    Post subject: Seeking advice for my specific situation - teaching in Japan Reply with quote

I am hoping for some good advice, here goes. My first post was about specific questions I had about working for GABA, but now I realize maybe I should have started with this.

I am a 40 year old white male from the United States. I have a bachelor's degree in marketing and have worked as a business manager in the healthcare industry for 17 years. I am looking do to a complete 180 and move to Japan to teach English.

I have several reasons for wanting to do this, but the main reasons are I have visited Japan and have fallen in love with country and culture. I love to travel and will use this opportunity to travel in Japan and the rest of Asia as much as possible. I want to learn to speak Japanese for my own personal reasons as well as having this skill for future work in the business world.

I have read about the different options for teaching and have figured out a few things. The easiest and most likely job to get is with an eikaiwa. Most people have mostly negative things to say about these companies. It seems that most of them have hours of about 12 - 10 pm and working on weekends is common. I don't mind weekends, but working at night is not ideal.