Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Good online TEFL courses?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
STLJosh

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:54 pm    Post subject: Good online TEFL courses? Reply with quote

I know, a lot of people will say "you don't need it' and 'it's not that helpful', but I would like to take a course that way I have some knowledge of what to do and I have certification.

Which online TEFL course is actually good? Many of them make bold claims and their 'reviews' are all from people that make money from affiliate marketing.
nomad soul

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A "good" one? Probably the one that's good for your budget.

Online TEFL certs are not widely accepted. Something to keep in mind when you're competing for jobs and/or applying for a work visa.

That said, you don't mention where you expect to teach. What do the job ads for your target areas/countries indicate in regard to TEFL qualifications?
STLJosh

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm expecting to teach in Taiwan. Most jobs want someone who is a native English speaker with a Bachelor's Degree, so I'm good there. Many says 'TEFL or TESOL certification preferred' or something akin to that. It isn't a requirement for the visa (from what I've seen' but schools in Taiwan are increasingly looking for it (so I'm told).