Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Employer perception: Open University vs University of London
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
geoffwode

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 7:20 pm    Post subject: Employer perception: Open University vs University of London Reply with quote

Hi all

I'm currently in the UK doing a BA in English (remote study) with the University of London.

In the future I am going to move to Vietnam. I've lived there previously and gained a CELTA, but have no further teaching experience. I'm studying for the degree to help my chances of getting a decent teaching or writing job.

I am considering switching to the Open University, to study a BA in English Language and Literature. The appeal is its flexibility - it appears to offer more opportunties to focus on Language over Literature, which is my preference. It's also asssessed on coursework, rather than the University of London's single exam per course.

My reason for posting is the one concern I have - the value of "University of London" on a degree, compared to "The Open University".

How much would an employer based in Vietnam care about the University name? How about the rest of Asia?

Thanks for your time.
currentaffairs

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

University of London would have far greater value. Nowadays, employers look at names because there are so many certs and degrees floating around. However, if you want to go with The Open University then do so..
Elicit