Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

I am completely new to this, looking for any guidance

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Richardm87

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:02 am    Post subject: I am completely new to this, looking for any guidance Reply with quote

Hello,

Believe it or not this is literally the first time I have ever posted on any kind of forum, so if I'm doing this wrong I apologize. My name is Richard and I am an mental health therapist in the USA, Florida to be exact. I am considering to take a bit of a break from my field and am interested in teaching English, specifically in Japan. I wanted to ask if there was anyone here that is or has taught in Japan and had any suggestions or thoughts on the process. I have a masters in counselor education, but am willing to get any certifications suggested to me to make this happen as I assume that degree won't apply much in this area of work. I am a photographer by passion and would love to be able to teach and take photos in Japan as I have wanted to visit since I was a child.

I guess I can more precisely ask if, from anyones experience, do Japanese programs require a certification or degree (most of the time) and to anyones knowledge to programs help with any expenses (i.e food or housing or airfare to the country)?

Thanks in advance and sorry for the wordy post.
nomad soul

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suggest heading to the Japan forum. You'll get more responses from those working there.
Osiry