Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Certificated teacher (US) and documents/job prospects

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jooooooey

PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:15 am    Post subject: Certificated teacher (US) and documents/job prospects Reply with quote

I just had a quick question. I'm a certificated (English) teacher in the US--I have a master's degree--and have experience teaching in regular secondary schools here. I taught ESL maybe ten years in other countries before that, but never got a TOEFL or CELTA or anything like that.

I was thinking of coming to Vietnam to teach. From what I've read, it's best to just come and ask around for jobs.

I taught in Peru for years and I just did it under the table as "a tourist" because documentation was too hard unless you get married or get a job with rich kids at an international school. Vietnam is the same?

I read about documentation in another forum, but if getting a legal job is hard... Just wondering what my prospects are and what kind of documentation I should bring. Or if this is the right place to go for teaching...

Thanks, any advice would be appreciated.
sigmoid

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Demand for English teachers in VN is still quite high although there are a lot of people showing up these days. However, with your qualifications and experience, you shouldn't worry too much about competition.