Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

life in brazil

View previous topic :: View next topic  
guneshli

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2004 9:06 am    Post subject: life in brazil Reply with quote

I have a TEFL and a few years experience, in England, Istanbul and Im currently teaching in Japan. I have wanted to teach in Brazil for years, but Im a bit nervous.
Here in rural Japan, I can stager home on my own at 4am (not that I do this a lot but I can), cycle about with my hand bag full of dosh in my bike basket, gazing at the sunset, and I often forget to lock my front door!
I think Ive gone a bit soft! Rolling Eyes
I know that as soon as I leave Japan I will have to sharpen up.
Will I be able to cope? Or will I be a goner?
I stick out like a sore thumb as Im tall, blonde, female and very pastey!
mouji

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

konnchi wa and bom dia

im in the same situation.... rural Japan can be very dangerous, in that, once you leave, you have been set up to be mugged in most parts of the world!

I have a few Brazilian friends from university that I will visit & stay with, so I feel a bit safer.

As well, you can set up a PEN FRIEND exchange through www.epals.com so that you can meet some teachers and maybe become friends (Brazilians are the friendliest peoples next to New Zealanders, Scots and Italians i think!)