Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Should this American invest in CELTA-TEFL training?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Europe Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
polihymnia

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2003 11:23 pm    Post subject: Should this American invest in CELTA-TEFL training? Reply with quote

Hi, I am an American female in my late 30s (but with a much younger attitude) and I am a developing musician with professional aspirations. I think I might like to live in Germany, Belgium, or Holland, because of the more progressive attitudes, but also because I have heard that Europe is so welcoming to musicians. I have heard this from several reliable sources and am aware that there are many more music festivals with many more people coming out to see bands there than in North America.

I have never taught anything. I have a four-year university degree in fine arts. My work experience has been a hodge-podge of secretarial work and proofreading and copyediting work. I was, tearfully, copyediting highly technical computer science textbooks until poor economic conditions forced me to go back into secretarial work, so I currently do temp work as a legal word processor (type like a fiend). Working toward getting gigs with one of my music projects, which should come soon.