Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A few Questions
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Klemintyne

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:24 am    Post subject: A few Questions Reply with quote

I'm very interested in working in Brazil. I'm a 22y/o AA male and, I've just completed my B.A. (International Studies/ French Minor) this past May. I studied Portuguese for 2.5 years while in college. I'm very unsure as to how I should go about pursuing this. I have no teaching experience, although I have done some informal tutoring. In looking over the application for IICA I don't meet the requirements of teaching experience. I was also looking over the sites for Bridge Linguatec and the Global education corporation. Does anyone have any info on them. From what I gather form Bridge Lingua's site is that everyone has worked in Chile! What would be the best course of action in my case? Would getting a TEFL certificate,and working someplace else first work as a good option for getting into IICA? Or should I forget IICA completely and go with another group ,or Shocked on my own?
Advice would be greatly appreciated!
Tiger Beer

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I worked at Linguatec in Sao Paulo. Its a great place to get some teaching experience for yourself, plus the teaching is quite easy. Basically you play DVDs, and they have to try to listen to and repeat what they heard while you constantly press the pause, play, and rewind buttons.