Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Decisions, desicions...

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Costa Rica
View previous topic :: View next topic  
carolynne

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:31 am    Post subject: Decisions, desicions... Reply with quote

Costa Rica or Mexico?

Has anyone done both and got some advice for me? I am a relatively new teacher with only 6 months experience. However I am CELTA/BA etc qualified. I am British-South African (can sneakily switch accents) - will this be problematic??
How quickly will I be able to find work in CR or Mexico? Need spanish? Will I be able to live off the salary I earn in the respective countries? Can I pick up privates if I'm starving, etc...

Many thanks, Carol
PS hello Guy
Guy Courchesne

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Caroylnne,

You'd probably make more money in Mexico, and enjoy better food here, but Costa Rica has some spectacular vistas, and is so small it looks like you could walk to either ocean.

Don't worry about accent/nationality.

It's easier to locate employment in Mexico, simply for the size difference beween the two countries. you do not need Spanish to teach in most cases, but it can be helpful. And you can live off, but not make a fantastic fortune, in both countries.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
doreenp

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 6:50 pm    Post subject: decisions decisions Reply with quote