Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

TESOL, TEFL, TOEFL, CELTA - what's the difference?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Newbie Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Hallie

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 9:57 pm    Post subject: TESOL, TEFL, TOEFL, CELTA - what's the difference? Reply with quote

Alright I'm new at this so don't laugh at me. Embarassed What's the difference between TESOL, TEFL, TOEFL, and CELTA? Not all countries require you to have a certifcate in them do they? I have a B.A. and a B.Ed. so would I need one of those certificates if I already have my teaching certification (B.Ed.)?
bnix

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 10:17 pm    Post subject: Suggestion:Do Not Waste Your Money on a Cert... Reply with quote

If you have a B.Ed., you already have appreciably more qualifications than a lot of people "teaching" in this field. At least you have a degree in education, not philosophy,animal husbandry, basketweaving,etc. Laughing
Of course, it also depends on where and at what level you wish to teach.Generally speaking, those cert things exist to put money in the pockets of the people who run the programs.I am not saying they are ALL useless or crooked, just most of them.If you do decide you want and must have a cert, do a lot of shopping around and research before you hand any money to anyone.There are a lot of scam artists in the "certificate" business. Rolling Eyes