Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Questions about a teaching job in Egypt

View previous topic :: View next topic  
SOBELLE

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 4:15 am    Post subject: Questions about a teaching job in Egypt Reply with quote

Hi all and happy New Year!

I have posted a message a while ago but I am posting it again to get a clear idea on what would be my next step. I am an elementary certified teacher; I am married to an Egyptian who has a European nationality. We are planning eventually on moving to Egypt, there is no definite time as of this moment. However, I would like to start on looking for a teaching job in an American school; I studied and worked in the U.S for more than fifteen years, I have a Master�s degree in computer and technology in Education. My questions are:
1. Would it be in my best interest not to mention that my husband is an Egyptian?
2. When is the best time to apply and should I rely on computer only for job postings?
3. Since I am a certified elementary teacher what are my chances on getting a job in an American school versus a language school as I am not interested in teaching in a language school?
4. Would it be easier to start looking once I am settled in Egypt?
And my last question not the least, I would like for my daughter to attend one of the American schools but looking at the tuition, I don't think we can afford it. What other alternatives do we have?
Thank you for taking the time to read my posting, any comment or suggestion is very much appreciated!