Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

no jobs in UK???

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Europe Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
minnie

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2003 8:12 pm    Post subject: no jobs in UK??? Reply with quote

Didn't quite know where to post this (hope it's ok here)

I'm a newly celta qualified teacher and, although I have chosen to work abroad, I started looking into working in the UK

We were told that there is a huge demand for qualified teachers in Further Education (as they all need to, by 2004, have a celta qualification... don't quote me on this) so why is it so difficult to find a job???

Is it 'word of mouth' and 'who you know' because I see so many 'bad' teachers out there working

someone enlighten me, please!
SueH

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2003 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Minnie,

A reasonable place to post as at least I've seen it!

As to FE in the uk... which is where I currently work as a recent (April 2002) CELTA qualifier.. well, there is work, but perhaps I need to qualify this statement.

I'm currently working on the back of my CELTA. Until recently you weren't actually required to have _any_ qualifications to teach any subject in FE, even if practice dictated otherwise. As you are aware the government is changing this and in a few years you will. The CELTA certainly helped me get a job but I am now studying for a City and Guilds 4307 which will become a minimum requirement. As far as I am aware the CELTA isn't sufficient.