Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Possible move to Bahrain

View previous topic :: View next topic  
constantblue

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:49 am    Post subject: Possible move to Bahrain Reply with quote

I'm after feedback on the advisability of a move from Al Ain, UAE to the University of Bahrain. At present I'm a Faculty member of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences at UAEU. I got my PhD in 2000 and I've been here in the UAE for most of the time since then. For reasons I won't go into right now, I've just about had it with life here and am looking to move on. I've had a serious expression of interest from the University of Bahrain, and am giving the matter serious thought right now.

Does anyone have any views on the advisability/desirability of an Al Ain to Bahrain relocation? What sort of salary would be considered good at a late Assistant/early Associate Professor level? What is life like in Bahrain? What are the Bahrainis like? How does Bahrain compare to Al Ain if you're out in the Gulf with a family? What is the cost of living like and how does B compare to AA?

I realize that Bahrain isn't the best paid location in the Gulf, but I'm hoping it will give me an opportunity to renegotiate my salary (one of the issues I have with UAEU). I'm hoping to fly out to Bahrain in the next couple of weeks to discuss these matters, so any feedback I could get before that would be most valuable.