Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Looking For Advice

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Asia Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ClarkP

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 5:59 pm    Post subject: Looking For Advice Reply with quote

Hey everyone,

I'm currently in an unsatisfying office job and looking to try something new. I've been reading this board for a while now and am looking for a little helpful advice.

First off, info about myself:
I'm 24 year old male American.

I have a bachelor's degree from William and Mary in VA.

I have about a year's experience teaching in a private high school, I've tutored people in Latin during college, and I've had a little experience with teaching smaller children.

I don't have any formal TEFL certification but am considering signing up for the CERTA.

From your experiences, what kind of job in what countries could I probably get?

My preferences/questions:
1) I would like to minimize my actual classroom hours. Anything more than 20-24 seems hellish to me. I'd like to avoid the split shifts/weekend work, etc.

2) The more vacation time the better. Obviously! Is two weeks pretty much standard throughought asia?

3) I certainly don't feel the need to save a whole lot, nor do I have any financial burdens except for feeding/clothing myself. I do like to go out and travel but by no means carry on an extravagant lifestyle.