Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Am I too late?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Newbie Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
october

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 1:23 pm    Post subject: Am I too late? Reply with quote

Hi there,
I have been a EFL K12 teacher for 6 years in Israel. I am an American who has been in Israel since the age of 8 (okay.. I'm 36...) lately I have been thinking seriously about moving back to the states with my husband and two children and teaching there. I'm starting my Masters this year.
so... What do guys think? is it possible? I would love the challange!
Do you need more info?
I would really appreciate your advice and thoughts.
thanks
October. [img][/img]
denise

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're certainly not too late, but the job situation in the States isn't very promising right now. An MA is expected/required for most jobs, and the salary/conditions generally aren't that great. There are, of course, good jobs out there, but they are very few.

d
denise

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Addendum:

What level are you hoping to teach? If you want to stay in K-12, you'll need state certification.

d
lucy k

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote