Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Your gracious advice

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ClaudeRains

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:40 am    Post subject: Your gracious advice Reply with quote

Hello All!

I need the advice of those of you who have been living and teaching in Vietnam. I would appreciate your frankness, as well as all depth of detail you have the patience to provide.

I have been a journalist and a novelist for the last 20 years, a college English instructor for the last five. I have a BA/MA in English, plus another 27 in Rhetoric and Writing Instruction(yes, lots of grammar). I also have the coursework for a Secondary Teaching Certificate, but I never had the time to quit my job at the college to practice-teach in a high school. I have had many foreign students in my writing classes and found their work exemplary. To better serve them over the years, I have reviewed numerous texts on ESL grammar issues. In the process, I have developed an interest in applied linguistics and ELT.

My wife is a dance teacher with a BA/MA in dance/theater. She has a current Arizona Teaching Certificate. We both have lived and travelled abroad before--in Europe as well as Central and South America.