Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Being self-employed

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
naturegirl321

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:22 pm    Post subject: Being self-employed Reply with quote

I've been working for others for about five years, and although it's great, it's been getting harder and more stressful. I'm well paid, but withour school starting the PYP, 31 hours, 5 different subjects, plus all the afterschool actitivies and meetings, I'm trying to get out. Plus, I'd like to stay home and raise a family. So I've been looking at becoming self employed. Here's some ideas I've come up with, hopefully they'll help other.

Teaching privates is a great source of income.
Try letting everyone know that you're looking for students.
Offer discounts for small group classes and for family members.
Look for country forums, and tell the people there that you're a private teacher.
Also try placing adverts in local papers.
Stand outside schools and give out business cards.
Contact schools and let them know that you teach private classes.
Ask them to put you on their list.

Subbing.
Contact schools and ask to be put on their sub list.

Publisher training sessions
Lots of publishers offer training sessions, some can pay 30 USD an hour. COntact publishers and ask if they can put you on their list.

Editing