Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

So is the CELTA enough these days?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Haft

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:55 pm    Post subject: So is the CELTA enough these days? Reply with quote

I'm an American, soon to be recognized as an Italian citizen in March or thereabouts, I have a Bachelor's of Arts in Philosophy, I have a graduate certificate (not degree) in paralegal studies and I have been drafting post-judgment legal documents for a law firm for the last year and a half. Is the CELTA, in addition to all of that, enough to expect a decent salary? (I definitely don't want to wait in getting started once the citizenship comes through.) Or is it just hopeless these days? I'm single, will definitely have no dependents. I have quite good savings. Ownership of a vehicle is pretty doubtful. I'm not sure where to get an international driver's license either way. I like books though, being able to enjoy all that philosophical literature in the original is probably going to be irresistible. I'm not interested in remaining single. So there's another money pit. I am of course willing to consider other careers, though savings opportunities in countries where EFLing makes sense financially have a definite long term appeal. Besides, what could a guy with the above background do besides go back to school all over again? Unless a "fachidiot" really does have the opportunity in Germany to take remedial trigonometry and someday become a chemist. That'd be cool. I really just want to go to learn German as best as possible though (