Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Advice needed: Question about salary/compensation
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
m27

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:31 pm    Post subject: Advice needed: Question about salary/compensation Reply with quote

Hello all! I've received an offer from a language school near Radon, and I want to make sure that what I'm being offered is appropriate to the "going rate" for my level and experience. Never having lived in Poland before, I don't want to be taken advantage of.

I have a master's degree in TESOL and a few years teaching experience under my belt. What this company is offering is 18000 - 22500 PLN for 9 months teaching, appx. 2000 - 2500 PLN a month. A furnished flat for 800PLN per month, not including utilities. And 400 EUROS reimbursed for travel costs. Also transportation to and from the school each day are covered. My husband will be coming with me and I will be supporting him until he finds employment. I have no illusions of making lots of money teaching, we just need to be able to live reasonably, and do a bit of traveling on the side. I want to check on the fairness of this offer, because I have a feeling it's on the low side.

Those experienced expats in Poland, please give me some feedback!

Glenlivet

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote