Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

misleading postings on this site

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Singapore
View previous topic :: View next topic  
larkahn

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:02 pm    Post subject: misleading postings on this site Reply with quote

I have been teaching as an ESL teacher for more than 10 years in Singapore. There are quite a few misleading postings about Singapore. Take for example the cost of living here. What kind of lifestyle are you interested in? Certainly, if you want the privacy of your own flat, then I would say that costs might be considered prohibitive; however, if you do not mind sharing a flat, then it is quite easy to get by.

Regarding recent negative postings about Dimensions, I have spoken with a half dozen past teachers there -- they have nothing but positive comments about the school, the work environment, and the work conditions. Since they no longer work at the school, there is no reason for them to make up stories. The school has an outstanding reputation among ESL teachers. Word does get around among the teachers at various schools.

I suggest that potential Singapore teachers, take with a grain of salt, the negative postings in this forum. They can be very misleading.
Krakatoa

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:21 am    Post subject: misleading postings on this site Reply with quote

larkhan,

NEGATIVE COMMENTS ARE WARRANTED!