Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Teaching near Sariyer?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
nortega

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:32 pm    Post subject: Teaching near Sariyer? Reply with quote

I will be moving possibly next year to Istanbul and am trying to find out if there are schools, etc in the Sariyer area of Istanbul to teach english. (reason being I might be living in that area).
I am a newbie to this and will be getting my certificate to teach before I go.
I appreciate any suggestions that will help me to plan.[/b]
gelin

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I guess we need to first find out what kind of certificate you will have to teach. Depending on that will be your options as to where, who and what you will teach. Sariyer is a nice place in Istanbul, by the way, if you didn't already know that.

I also take it that you do realize that you need to have all the visa work done BEFORE you come to Turkey, right?
nortega

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:21 pm    Post subject: Teaching in Sariyer Reply with quote

Thanks for the response. As I said I am new to this. I am looking into a program that will give me a TEFL certificate.
I hope to come to Istanbul in the next month and visit some schools to discuss my teaching for them in the Fall. (of course providing there are openings)
From everyones messages, I do know about the visa and I thought I would take that step if and when I was given an offer - I realize this all might be unreasonale thinking from my part????
gelin