Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SAT Teaching in Egypt
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jmeth8811

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:33 pm    Post subject: SAT Teaching in Egypt Reply with quote

I was wondering if anyone could help me out with knowing my qualifications to teach in Egypt. I have 5 years of experience as an SAT teacher and individual tutor in the U.S.

1) Is there a large market for SAT teaching and/or tutoring in Egypt? If so, where is the best place to look?

2) Does my background teaching and tutoring the SAT at all qualify me to teach English, since I have never formally taught it in the States?

Any help or advice is appreciated!
veiledsentiments

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 1:40 am    Post subject: Re: SAT Teaching in Egypt Reply with quote

jmeth8811 wrote:
2) Does my background teaching and tutoring the SAT at all qualify me to teach English, since I have never formally taught it in the States?

No. If you want to teach English, get a CELTA. You can, by the way, get one at the British Council in Cairo.

I never heard of any SAT training in Cairo while I was there in the past... I would expect that the market is very limited. I don't know who would be needing it... maybe the students at CAC?

VS
jmeth8811

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't a lot of the more wealthy students aspire to go to American universities? If so, isn't SAT preparation extremely important?