Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to approach colegios in Bogot�: E-mail? Call? Show up?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Colombia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
littlelauren86

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:31 pm    Post subject: How to approach colegios in Bogot�: E-mail? Call? Show up? Reply with quote

I'm here in Bogot� and will start the colegio job search soon. I used the list of private colegios and organized everything. I have a CELTA and 2 years of experience so I'm looking for those schools willing to pay what I'm worth.

What's the best way of approaching schools?

Should I e-mail them? Cold call, or just show up to the schools with a resume and a smile? Cool Or is some sort of combination best?

I'm leaning toward cold-calling them to see if they have positions open.
simonenglish

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't run around without an interview. I think a good CV is perfectly sufficient. Fine by email. For the colleges and universities it wouldn't be easy to roll up and talk to who you want.. If desperate then I would go in person to language schools, yes.

In my limited experience the bigger institutions are good at following up on enquiries if they really want you.
windowlicker

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 9:28 pm    Post subject: Re: How to approach colegios in Bogot�: E-mail? Call? Show u Reply with quote

littlelauren86 wrote:
I'm leaning toward cold-calling them to see if they have positions open.