Site Search:

Speak Korean Now!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Korean Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Korean Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

looking for martial arts for adults in suwon

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korean Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Discussion Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
philinkorea

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2003 2:51 am    Post subject: looking for martial arts for adults in suwon Reply with quote

hi there
i've been training in taekwondo for a few months in a private class. i'm starting to think its not that good as the guy who trains me is making a special effort to come in and doesnt seem that bothered. i've been going almost 4 months and he's suggested me having my black belt test which seems like a joke but said you just need to know these 8 patterns and spar for a minute.
i really want to train properly in taekwondo or another martial art as i've heard there are other good ones with a descent instructor.
if anyone can help i'd be appreciated. i work 1:30 - 8:10 so need outside these times preferably earlier
thanks a lot
phil
Stunted Wookie

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2003 5:30 am    Post subject: training Reply with quote

Hi;
I have extensive experience in MA....so I thought I would chuck two cents at ya.
In TKD 4-6 months is not unusal here to test for your BB. Yes the first 8 form ('poomse') and a light sparring session..that's the show.

I spent years training self defense; now that I am here I too am trying TKD. Its not self defence...make no mistake. It's not no matter who tells you what. Its a sport orientated martial art.