Halloween Activities

<b> Forum for discussing activities and games that work well in the classroom </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

jroden84

Halloween Activities

Post by jroden84 » Wed Oct 30, 2013 1:13 am

Hello all! I am a high school teacher in China, and I am looking for some ideas for tomorrow night's English Corner.. They're throwing a Halloween party of some sort and want me to come up with some fun games, but everything I find requires a bunch of resources.. We don't have access to any resources, really.

The kids are low-level English learners around 14-17 years of age.. I'd appreciate any ideas :) Something that gets them talking, moving, having fun, etc. No worksheets, board work, etc. of course..

Thanks in advance!

Sally Olsen
Location: Canada,France, Brazil, Japan, Mongolia, Greenland, Canada, Mongolia, Ethiopia next

Post by Sally Olsen » Wed Oct 30, 2013 9:02 am

Making Jack-O-Lanterns with any large fruit painted orange. Bobbing for apples. Turn out the lights and tell scary stories or show a mildly scary movie. Put up a white sheet with a strong light behind and do an "operation"on someone important -pulling out sausages from the stomach, spaghetti cooked, tennis balls for eyes ( more than two ) dripping sponge for brains. If they come in costume have a parade. If not you can bring in clothes and have teams for a dress up race - run down to the clothes, dress, undress and run back. Learn Michael Jackson's "Thriller". Get them to do a trick for a treat.
Guess the number of jelly beans in a jar. Make a Haunted House with things from the dollar store - plastic white sheeted ghosts, spiders, spider webs from wool or thread. Have them do a Hallowe'en craft - lots of ideas on Hallowe'en websites. Marshmallow food fight.

jroden84

Post by jroden84 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 1:23 am

Thanks for the suggestions but we had NONE of those resources -lol- We managed though.

Sally Olsen