Student's inactive attitude in class

<b> Forum for discussing activities and games that work well in the classroom </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

bstwhitepigg

Student's inactive attitude in class

Post by bstwhitepigg » Tue Apr 13, 2004 3:45 pm

I am an English-major student in Taiwan. I want to share my experience of taking the conversation class. It’s about 18 students in the class. In college, this kind of class is very small and supposed to have a very active participation between students and instructor; however, the real situation is not like that. In class, the instructor, no matter how interesting or boring he is, when he is teaching students, asking questions or asking for response, but all students sitting there and remains silence. After a long time waiting, few of students will give the answer to break the embarrassment. This kind of situation happens all the time. In the class, there are always some fixed students to answer questions and others answer questions unless they are being forced. Most students are too shy to open their mouth to speak, because they are afraid of giving wrong answer or they think that their English is not good enough to speak. Every time I come across this kind of situation, I will have a little bit anger, because it’s not what I want in the conversation class. Conversation class is supposed to be happy, active and excited. When I look back to my class, I think it’s not excessive to call my conversation class as a busted lesson. I don’t know whether anybody have the same experience with me, maybe you want to share yours with me or give me some advices. :D

Ivy

Re: Student's inactive attitude in class

Post by Ivy » Tue Apr 13, 2004 4:46 pm