Help! End of Class Presentation

<b> Forum for discussing activities and games that work well in the classroom </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

falangtingtong

Help! End of Class Presentation

Post by falangtingtong » Thu May 06, 2004 9:21 am

Hello. I am a first time poster, but I've used this site frequently.

I am living in NE Thailand and accidentally found myself teaching a class of about 10 children of extremely varying levels of English in a private language school. I have no experience or training in education, or even a decent book or curriculum. Basically the school was desperate.

I have found my time with the children quite enjoyable, but it is a constant struggle for me daily to keep the class from turning to total chaos, let alone get much teaching done. Just when I am beginning to breathe easier, as the end of class comes in less than a week, the director told me that on the last day of class, the parents were to come into the room for the entire hour and watch some sort of presentation of the students' new abilities. This terrifies me, as I don't know what I can teach them in such a short time that could demonstrate any ability. I've thought of skits or songs, but I don't think I can fill the time or teach it so quickly.

Any suggestions? Am I totally screwed?

Sally Olsen
Location: Canada,France, Brazil, Japan, Mongolia, Greenland, Canada, Mongolia, Ethiopia next

Post by Sally Olsen » Thu May 06, 2004 10:09 am