Rookie Teacher in Desperate Need of Help

<b> Forum for discussing activities and games that work well in the classroom </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

BK-Prince

Rookie Teacher in Desperate Need of Help

Post by BK-Prince » Mon Aug 31, 2009 4:48 am

Hello everyone, this is my first post in these forums. I just recently came to Taiwan to work for GRAM but am having a good deal of difficulties. I should probably mention first and foremost that I have no teaching experience and no TESL, TEFL, etc.

Right now I'm having difficulties coming up with fun lesson plans using the textbooks that I'm given. Sometimes I'm not sure what exactly it is that the students are supposed to be getting out of the lesson, other times I just don't know how to make the material fun. I've been told to try incorporating some of my interests to help make the lessons more fun for me to teach so that I'm not acting so serious in front of the kids. However, I'm really not sure how I can incorporate my main interests (sports, anime, video games) into lessons about sentence structures and vocab.

I know my questions are perhaps a bit vague but any advice you guys can give would be most appreciated. I really like Taiwan but my struggles with teaching have really weighed on my overall experience.

Brian

Post by Brian » Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:39 pm

Hi BK Prince

Don't get discouraged. Loads of new teachers find themselves in similar situations, unfortunately.

With no TESL, TEFL experience or training, looks like you're going to have to train yourself somewhat - by finding ideas online and by learning from other teachers. Find the more experienced/respected teachers in the school and ask if you can sit in and observe some of their lessons.

I always found one of the best ways of improving as a teacher was to watch other teachers.

What level are your students?

Brian

Sally Olsen