A tried and tested but troubled teacher

<b> Forum for ESL/EFL teachers working with secondary school students </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

Sinclair75

A tried and tested but troubled teacher

Post by Sinclair75 » Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:16 am

I've been teaching for eight years now in both secondary and primary schools, (in England, Canada, and Scotland) but now have my first ESL post in a foreign high school, Poland. I have 16 different classes and see each one once a week for 45 minutes. Then I have a double block of students wishing to progress further and one individual student with a mind to obtain a job which requires the need for English proficiency. I have no difficulties whatsoever planning, assessing, and encouraging talk. Management is nearly perfect except for one class: they are 14/15 year olds (I'm sure you are all groaning right about now) who believe the world owes them a living. My difficulty is how best to manage when I only see them once for 45 minutes? Do I devote 15 minutes to minimizing low level behaviour? Do I relax and let them murmur, and giggle, and distract because it's only 45 minutes? Do I rule with an iron fist? The Head of English, if such a thing really exists in this school, suggests that I mark them and place some weight in the marking on attitude/behaviour. I've never used this approach before in teaching but, given the limited time I have with them, think it might be the best approach. I'm here to teach conversation and vocabulary, so tests might seem contrary to the goal of conversation, but I'm a bit out of breath. I've seen them three times now and they only seem to get better :twisted: Any and all suggestions, comments, condolences, etc are welcome.

erinyes

Post by erinyes » Thu Sep 21, 2006 4:31 pm

Oh, I’m sorry! I teach rich kids in China and they do the same… murmur, try to play the games on their electric dictionaries, try to sleep, etc.