Retaining adult students

<b>Forum for teachers teaching adult education </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

Ballerina

Retaining adult students

Post by Ballerina » Mon Apr 01, 2013 4:26 am

For those of you who tutor adults what is the longest amount of time a student studied with you? I've been a private tutor for the past 4 years and noticed that the longest an adult student stayed with me was for a year or little under a year. I'm beginning to wonder if it is just me or if this is normal. With elementary aged students it has been more like 3 years or more..

I know with kids, their parents make sure that they arrive to weekly tutoring sessions whether they like it or not. With adults, things like golf, care taking, post-work fatigue seem to get in the way of wanting to continue tutoring. Reasons for quitting seem to range from being too busy at work or school.

I enjoy working with adults very much and try to do my best to make lessons engaging, useful, and meaningful. How long have your adult students stayed with you?

p.s. I also realize that students must "move on" and not rely on a tutor forever. At the same time I would like to know if it's just "me" or it's just the nature of tutoring adults.

Sheila Collins

Post by Sheila Collins » Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:08 pm

Adult students who claim they want to improve their English generally only stay with me for a few months. The few that have stuck around any longer are the ones who are "learning while doing": they need my help with work emails or other forms of correspondence. (These adults tend to learn more and learn faster than the ones who come voluntarily.)

I think adults forget how much effort is actually involved in being a student.

bilinguallearner

Post by bilinguallearner » Sat Apr 13, 2013 9:54 pm