Teaching Fluent Adults

<b>Forum for teachers teaching adult education </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

gvastola

Teaching Fluent Adults

Post by gvastola » Sat Apr 03, 2004 5:03 pm

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting as, I am new to teaching English. I have an adult student who is already fluent and is taking English lessons to polish his usage. I'm finding it very difficult to challenge him and find areas that he needs help in. Mainly, I don't know how to promt conversation or find reading material or come up with sentences that will focus on the mistakes he is already making like not pronuncing the s on plural words or look for mistakes with verb tenses.

I would appreciate any suggestions of games appropriate for adults or any tools to assist.

Thanks,
Gina

LarryLatham

Post by LarryLatham » Sun Apr 04, 2004 11:57 pm

It sounds, Gina, as if you're working with your student one-on-one.

If that is the case, games are not likely to offer much, since playing a game with the teacher is not very satisfying...more like terrifying.

I'd suggest you read One To One, A Teacher's Handbook, by Peter Wilberg, published by LTP in London in 1987. Wilberg has many useful suggestions.