Advice for teaching intermediate college students

<b>Forum for teachers teaching adult education </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

dssdog

Advice for teaching intermediate college students

Post by dssdog » Sun Aug 10, 2003 12:50 am

Dear ESL teachers, I am a TEFL certified teacher living in the US. I have accepted a teaching position at a college in China. The students according to the DOS (who is Chinese) are suppose to be at an intermediate level, some undergraduate English majors and some post-graduate engineering students.

The class size is suppose to be around 30-40 students. I have never taught a class of this size and frankly am concerned as to what I can teach to such a large number of students. The main English classes to be taught are; conversational English, literature, North American culture.

I could sure use some guidance on how to setup lessons for such a large number of students. I am used to teaching groups of 8-12 maximum where you can give individual attention and break the class up into small groups of 2 or 4.

markphillips_helsinki

Post by markphillips_helsinki » Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:34 pm

:o bloody hell, that sounds like a challenge. Do you have an hour before class to do the photocopying???

As a starting point I would recommend McCallums 101 Word Games Oxford University Press, as it has a number of word game activities aimed at larger class sizes, and plenty of others that can be adapted.