Understanding and teaching children from different cultures.

<b> Forum for teachers interested in discussing ESL, multiculturalism and teaching </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

katiemac

Understanding and teaching children from different cultures.

Post by katiemac » Mon Jun 09, 2003 7:58 pm

I am in the process of getting my ESL certification so I am very new to all of this. I am interested in how teachers learn to understand and adapt to the children in their classroom that are from other cultures as well as teach the children about our culture without forcing them to give their's up? What are some strategies that have worked and others that have not? I am interested to see what is going on in the classroom so I will have some idea what to expect.

Also, what are some good resources to read or look at that would help with this issue?

Duchess_Meli

Post by Duchess_Meli » Tue Jun 17, 2003 7:45 pm

The most important and successful thing you can do to promote cultural exchange and acceptance is the simply keep your classroom open! Make sure you keep an open mind and reward students who do as well.

Many ESL projects you can work often allow for cultural elements and implementations. These projects not only work on language skills, but promote individuality and acceptance of others' cultures. Check websites like this one and others offer many helpful suggestions, but often regular classroom projects, especially those designed for elementary classrooms, can be accomodated for ESL implementation.

Good Luck!!

Tammy30

Post by Tammy30 » Fri Jun 27, 2003 3:20 pm

I am also a new student in ESL, and I would like to know how to work with students with different cultures. I am a little nervous about helping them, but I also can not wait to try. I would like to know how you learn enough about their culture that you do not disrespect them the first time you meet them?

arlet