ESL/BILINGUAL CLASSES

<b> Forum for teachers interested in discussing ESL, multiculturalism and teaching </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

blanca

ESL/BILINGUAL CLASSES

Post by blanca » Sun Jun 15, 2003 2:58 pm

:lol: Hello, I am a college student hoping to graduate in December as en EC-4 teacher. The bilingual program will be implemented in my hometown district, and I will be working with the bilingual children. Since we are going to start the program in the second semester I would like to ask you for some ideas or strategies that I can use with my children. The bilingual program is going to be implemented in Kindergarten with NES (Non-English Speaking Students). Since the program is planned for the second semester I feel
like we are not going to have enough time to really develop the program and deliver all the benefits to the children. I would aprecciate your suggestiones.

Jen

Post by Jen » Thu Jun 19, 2003 4:21 pm

Blanca,
Although I'm still a student like yourself, I have the same concerns. However, a friend of mine teaches ESL and said that in the first school district where she tought, the other teachers helped her plan her assignments. They were very helpful and answered any questions she had. So hopefully, where you teach they will be courteous enough to help you through your frist semester. Then, I bet you'll be able to do it on your own:) I know that wasn't any concrete advice, but hopefully it helped.
Jennifer

blanca

Post by blanca » Fri Jun 20, 2003 1:45 am

Jenniffer: