grammar question; I work Monday "to / through" Fri

<b>Forum for the discussion of Applied Linguistics </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

hereinchina

grammar question; I work Monday "to / through" Fri

Post by hereinchina » Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:49 pm

Hello,
I'm not sure if I should use the word "to" or "through" in the following sentences, or are they both gramatically correct?
1. I work Monday "to / through" Friday.
2. I studied English from primary school "to / through" high school.
3. I live in China every year from December "to / through" May.

Chrisdj

Post by Chrisdj » Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:24 am

Hi!

I'm not an American, and the phrase "from A through B" is mostly used in the US and Canada, whereas "from A to B" is more usual in other countries.

However, I am sure 1. is correct both ways, and I think 2. sounds correct both ways as well.

No. 3 is ok too, as long as you mean that you live in China Dec though May, and somewhere else for the other months.

Just to confuse matters more, some people even say "from A through to B", as in " I studied Englsih from primary school through to high school"

These three phrases basically have the same use and meaning.

Hope that helps :)

englishbiz

Post by englishbiz » Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:15 pm

Great question. Seems to be more of a "style" issue than a grammatical one. Language is always growing and changing. Organic things do that, I guess. I wonder, however, how much the next wave of texting and twitter(ing)(?) will impact what we currently think is "good English".

fluffyhamster

Post by fluffyhamster » Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:40 am