How to make a child bilingual?

<b> Forum for the discussion of all aspects of bilingual education </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

Lucilla Kossowska

How to make a child bilingual?

Post by Lucilla Kossowska » Fri Aug 22, 2003 9:50 pm

I am an ESL teacher, Polish, living in Poland and a mother of a 2 year old. I am trying to find an unobtrusive way to teach him English simultaneously to Polish, his mother tongue. We have tried together with my husband to switch to English but that works only when a native speaker is around, otherwise Tycjan gets angry and cries. I would appreciate any advice from parents and /or teachers in similar situation as well as any hints as to internet or other resources. Thanks a lot.
Lucilla

dduck

Post by dduck » Sat Aug 23, 2003 6:49 pm

From what I understand, children 'absorb' new language rather than learn it - in the formal sense. When I lived in Germany, a English couple I knew had a young son. They spoke English at home, watched Sky TV - no German, and sent their son to an English speaking Kindergarten. Despite all this their son still managed to learn German from playing with the next door neighbour's kids. No lessons, no grammar, no exams.

So, if at all possible, find a English speaking couple with a kid or two and start socializing with them. Failing that, children love watching TV so you could buy/rent a children's programme in English. I'm guessing on Polish TV there are lots of childrens' programmes that have been dubbed into Polish. Perhaps, your son has a favourite programme, like this, that you can buy in the original language. You should be able to buy DVD's in Polish and English.

In Mexico, parents with money (and motivation) send their sons and daughters to private schools where they start learning English from day one. I've spoken to 16 year olds who are fluent and are almost as good as native speakers.

Iain

Roger