Teaching Translation

<b> Forum for the discussion of all aspects of bilingual education </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

CHACHVANG

Teaching Translation

Post by CHACHVANG » Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:50 pm

Hi,
I'm CHACHVANG, a new member of our forum. I'm a teacher of translation at a university in Vietnam.
I write to ask for your comments on the checklists of evaluation in term of translation teaching as follows:

1. In the viewpoint of translation students, through what aspects will you evaluate a text in the source language (SL)? (I ask you this question because I want to develop a checklist for my students to evaluate the text quality in the SL before translation.)

2. In the viewpoint of a translation teacher, through what aspects will you evaluate your students' translation works in the target language (TL)? (I ask you this question because I want to develop a checklist for me to mark my students' translation papers.)

Could you make any comments?
I look forward to your replies.
Thanks.

CHACHVANG

kittykoo

Post by kittykoo » Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:04 pm

I am a translator (Spanish to English) and I have also taught ESL. I find that most of my ESL students are not careful and thoughtful enough to do translations, and that research is the key to what translation students lack. Students should research terminology, vocabulary, idioms and sentence structures before they translate. When evaluating the results, intelligibility and accuracy are the most important features. Everything else is cosmetic, and depending on the target audience and proposed functions of the translation, style is more or less important, but certainly secondary to accuracy and intelligibility. Is this helpful?

Senorita Daniels

Post by Senorita Daniels » Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:17 pm