K-2 Bilingual Classroom Activity and Center Ideas

<b> Forum for the discussion of all aspects of bilingual education </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

cuky

K-2 Bilingual Classroom Activity and Center Ideas

Post by cuky » Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:53 pm

I thought it would be a great learning tool to have a thread where teachers could post different approaches and activities that they use in their centers and/or classrooms. Being a bilingual education topic I hope I will be able to pick up many center ideas using and developing the skills of the student's native language.

BTW - I am a 2nd grade bilingual teacher in Texas.

cuky

Post by cuky » Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:05 pm

Being my thread, I guess I'll be the first to post here. At my school I team teach with another bilingual teacher (all our second grade classrooms do this). I teach math, social studies, and science. The other teacher does the language arts in English and Spanish, as well as writing.

Everyday I have a minimum of 30 minutes center time. I utilize from 8 to 10 centers where the students work in pairs. I am hoping to gather more ideas for my centers to keep them fresh, entertaining, as well as educational.

OK here is the first center idea:

Symmetry - Image [The students put elmers glue on the lines of the image. They then fold the paper in half and pat it lightly. They unfold it, put in a bucket, and sprinkle sand over top. They lift the paper out and PRESTO they have a cool looking image showing perfect symmetry.

They can then make their own image on a paper on one side. Glue over the lines, fold it, sprinkle the sand, and PRESTO they have made their own symmetry image. The kids come up with some awesome looking creations
Last edited by cuky on Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

cuky

Post by cuky » Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:09 pm