Telecollaboration Experiences: Connecting Students Globally

<b> Forum for the discussion on how to use computers and technology in the ESL/EFL classroom </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

christopher:::

Telecollaboration Experiences: Connecting Students Globally

Post by christopher::: » Fri Aug 25, 2006 3:29 am

Hello everyone,

I'm a University teacher living in *beep* (Fu-ku-oka), Japan. For the last 2 and a half years I've been telecollaborating with a teacher (Paul) in Seoul, Korea. We've been using Moodle discussion boards that Paul had set up, and webcams to connect our students each semester. We started out using Yahoo.messenger and Hotmail.messenger, with IBM compatible computers and Logotech webcams, but found that it was really hard to get the video and audio to work perfectly. Most of the time the images moved in slow motion, audio didnt work, so he and I had to sit at the computer and type out text messages.

Then, in Feb of 2005, after hearing of the success a colleague was having with his Mac iSight camera and iChat we switched to that technology. It's been wonderful, so much easier and simpler to set up and use. One must make the initial investment of buying a MacIntosh computer, but after that everything is free. The video moves at around 15-30 frames a second, audio is crisp and clear. Last night the two of us had a video conference for almost 2 hours, discussing our project.

Next semester we plan to try to connect two classes in Korea and Japan with each other. We plan to give them about six weeks to talk together on the discussion board Paul will set up, and do 2 or 3 class-to-class videoconferences. I would be very interested in hearing about any similar projects that some of you have participated in or read about.