New teacher needs help

<b> Forum for elementary education ESL/EFL teachers </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

becca

New teacher needs help

Post by becca » Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:22 pm

I was an elementary teacher before taking the necessary classes to become certified for ESL. That was a before my children were born and now I'm returning to work as an ESL teacher. At my last interview, I was asked what I would do specifically to support a classroom teacher (this is public school with a pull out program for ESL). I answered with some very general ideas such as pulling any necessary info for units they were working on and working on their self esteem, but I didn't really feel like I had strong specific instructions. All my coursework was 6-7 years ago and I could use some suggestions. Thanks.
Becca

dduck

New teacher needs help

Post by dduck » Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:50 pm

I get the impression you're feeling a bit out of touch, and perhaps lacking some of the self-confidence you had when you were an elementary teacher. I think interviewers will pick up this "vibe" very quickly, so it's not just a matter of what you say but also how you say it. Practise sounding confident and people will let themselves be persuaded :)

I'm not exactly clear what role you were applying for. You said you're going to be a ESL teacher, working with a classroom teacher, but if you're being asked to offer support this sounds to me more like a classroom assistant. Sorry, but I'm a little confused!

In which part of the world are you applying, by the way?

Iain

becca

Post by becca » Fri Feb 21, 2003 2:15 pm

Hi Iain,