Your opinions on native languages

<b> Forum for elementary education ESL/EFL teachers </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

JuJu

Your opinions on native languages

Post by JuJu » Tue Mar 09, 2004 12:10 am

Hi,

I am currently a student in a teaching credential program. I am interested in hearing how current teachers felt about supporting the native languages of ELL students. Do you think that it is important to support ELL's native language, or fully immerse them into the English language? I would love to hear your responses, have a chat, or even just an e-mail session. Your thoughts would be much appreciated. Also, if I can get your name and position, that would be great. Thank you. :)

Roger

Post by Roger » Tue Mar 09, 2004 4:55 am

ELL - ?

JuJu

Post by JuJu » Tue Mar 09, 2004 6:15 am

Sorry---

ELL = English Language Learners

Roger

Post by Roger » Wed Mar 10, 2004 11:51 am

I think most of us cannot support our students in improving their mother tongue mastery.
I also think you can only teach one subject at a time.

serendipity

Post by serendipity » Tue Mar 16, 2004 3:08 pm

Well, it depends on the native language of the students, I suppose.

If there's a lot of overlap, such as between English and German, then new English words might in fact enhance their vocabulary in their mother-tongue, too, by giving them access to the less frequently used/more formal terms of Latin origin. And it might make them more familiar with words which have been absorbed from English into everyday usage within a German context - especially among the business community.

NEvangelista

It depends

Post by NEvangelista » Sat Oct 02, 2004 7:59 am