1st year teacher w/ ESL student

<b> Forum for elementary education ESL/EFL teachers </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

buannie604

1st year teacher w/ ESL student

Post by buannie604 » Fri Aug 11, 2006 2:53 am

I am a first year teacher in a Catholic school with no services for ESL students. I know that the student that has been included into my class spoke his first english word (he is a spanish speaker) in February and recognized 2 sight words at the end of kindergarten. No english is spoken in his home and I have no other spanish speakers in my classroom. It sounds like you all have experience with ESL students. Any ideas?

Lorikeet

Post by Lorikeet » Fri Aug 11, 2006 4:35 pm

I moved this to "Elementary Education" from "Activities and Games" in the hopes you can find someone to help you better there.

EH

Post by EH » Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:22 pm

First of all, don't expect miracles of yourself. First year teachers have a lot to deal with besides this one ESL issue, and you will be overwhelmed, and you will *not* be able to make a native-like English speaker out of this student before the school year is out.

But you can make a difference.

Here are some points to remember:

--1st grade is all about learning to read, and quality phonics instruction can give a huge boost to ESL students' listening skills, reading skills, spelling skills, and pronunciation skills. My favorite phonics program to use with ESL students is LiPS, because it focuses so much on both sounds and symbols. But any phonics instruction is probably better than none.