i need your help

<b> Forum for elementary education ESL/EFL teachers </b>

Moderators: Dimitris, maneki neko2, Lorikeet, Enrico Palazzo, superpeach, cecil2, Mr. Kalgukshi2

swaira

i need your help

Post by swaira » Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:40 pm

hello everybody...

i am a new memeber in this forum and i am a new teacher too . i want your advice or your thoughts about how to manage and displine kids. i teach grade 5 (boys) and they make noise all the time and sometimes i feel i lose control and dont know how to manage them . i tired and never give up trying new ways to manage them and try to make them focus on the lesson . i want some ideas to help me in finishing my lesson on time and reduce the amount of noise . plz help if you have any ideas and i will be grateful .....

swaira

Post by swaira » Thu Sep 21, 2006 3:02 pm

should i change the place of my problem , i just needed your help ,but nothing ...

thanks alot

Lorikeet

Post by Lorikeet » Thu Sep 21, 2006 4:08 pm

I moved it here in case interested people look specifically at this forum. I am sorry I can't help you, as I don't teach kids.

EH

Post by EH » Wed Sep 27, 2006 8:01 pm

When it comes to discipline, the key concepts are explicit rules and consistent consequences.

Write some basic classroom rules (1-5 total) down on a poster and put the poster on the wall. Go over it with the kids. Tell them what the punishments are for noncompliance, and what the rewards are for being good. Then enforce the rules, immediately, strictly, every single time. It may take a few class sessions before they get the hint that you're not going to back down. Don't give up. If they can't attend to your lessons, then the lessons are not being learned. It's worth spending some time to help them settle down.