Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

4 Interviews Results; Bogota
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Colombia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
travelgoddess

Location: on vacation in Chiang Mai, Thailand until next contract starts (updated Jan 2010)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 5:33 pm    Post subject: 4 Interviews Results; Bogota Reply with quote

Disclaimer; I have a uni degree, CELTA and 2 years of teaching experience. This is my 3rd week in Bogota.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Small institute
Interviewer swore that the only way I could work there was if I got a local friend's documents, because the not legal contract would be in their name. There was a lot of hemming and hawing "trying" to figure out an alternate plan, during which I was given a very British English fill in the blank exercise (I am American, and although I justified my answers, there was an a tisk, tisk moment here and there). Pay was 15,000 an hour before taxes. Interesting that you can pay taxes on an under the table job with penalties for showing up late to class and that is under someone elses name.

2. Bigger, bolder institute